The 2021 Dota Pro Circuit Season Two Explained

The 2021 Dota Pro Circuit Season Two Explained

Unlike past seasons of Dota Pro Circuit, the 2021 Dota Pro Circuit will have only two Majors

The first Major of the 2021 Dota Pro Circuit commenced on the 4th of April in Singapore. The crowned champion of the ONE Esports Singapore Major 2021 was the heralded team from China, IG as they came back from a 0-2 deficit against EG and win 3 in a row to take the grand finals.

The second season of the Dota Pro Circuit is currently underway, with separate leagues spread across six regions. Following the new major format, the structure of the regional league split into upper and lower divisions has seen some relegation based on the results during season one.

Relegation of Upper & Lower Division

The regional league split into upper and lower divisions coming in two separate seasons during the Pro Circuit cycle has introduced something new to the scene: Relegation.

To keep the pro scene competitive, teams will now be rewarded accordingly based on their overall performance in their respective league during the first season. The bottom two teams in the upper division will swap places with the top two teams in the lower division.

Below is the chart detailing the results of Season One of 2021 Dota Pro Circuit and the regional division relegations:

RegionRelegated to Lower DivisionRelegated to Upper Division
EuropeVikin.GG & Chicken FightersHellbear Smashers & Brame
ChinaTeam MagMa & LBZSSparking Arrow Gaming & Royal Never Give Up
Southeast Asia496 Gaming & South Built EsportsLilgun & Omega Esports
Eastern EuropeTeam Empire & NoTechiesPuckchamp & Winstrike Team
North AmericaWind and Rain & 5ManMidassimply TOOBASED & The Cut
South AmericaHokori & Infinity EsportsEGOBOYS & Latam Defenders

Roster locks are implemented from the start of each season until the end of the respective Major. Transfer periods start after the Major and before the next season begins, but each roster change incurs a 15% penalty on current points. Stand-ins may be used for up to four matches in the league as long as that stand-in is either competing in a lower division or not competing in a league at all.

Just like the previous year, the top 12 teams of the DPC points leaderboard by the end of the second Major will receive a direct invitation to The International. The organizer of the Season Two Major is yet to be announced at the current moment. Stay tuned as GamingSafe keep you posted for more updates!

ONE Esports Singapore Major team and hero statistics

Latest News

Latest Game Reviews

Latest in e-Sports

Get The Latest Updates

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Sign up for exclusive offers and latest news and receive them straight to your inbox.

Latest in Poker

Latest in Payments