How Many Teams Can Qualify For FIFA World Cup 2022?


Only the best-of-the-best; Here is a rundown of how 32 teams will emerge from amidst 210 teams across the world to compete at Qatar’s grand stage

The grandest stage of them all: The FIFA World Cup 2022 will be hosted by host country Qatar, therefore effectively seeding the Qatar national team into the first qualified spot. With that, this means that 31 spots remains to be claimed by a total of 210 teams across the world across six regions. Buckle up while we give you the summary of the FIFA Qualification process.

Fun fact: This will be the last World Cup to feature only 32 teams as the field will be expand to 48 teams for the next World Cup onwards

Official FIFA Slot Allocation

How Many Teams Can Qualify For FIFA World Cup 2022?

The allocation of slots for each confederation was discussed by the FIFA Executive Committee in Zurich on the 30th of May in 2015. The same allocation used in 2006, 2010, and 2014 would be used also for the 2018 and 2022 tournaments:

  • Union of European Football Associations (UEFA / Europe): 13 Allocated Slots
  • Confederation of African Football (CAF / Africa): 5 Allocated Slots
  • Asian Football Confederation (AFC / Asia): 4 or 5 Allocated Slots
  • South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL / South America): 4 or 5 Allocated Slots
  • Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football  (CONCACAF / North, Central America and Caribbean): 3 or 4 Allocated Slots
  • Oceania Football Confederation (OFC / Oceania): 0 or 1 Allocated Slots

What is known as an Inter-confederation play-offs will be played respectively between these four teams from their respective confederations (Shown in the map above as dotted line crossed between the region/confederations):

  • AFC Fourth Round Winner vs CONMEBOL Fifth Place, and
  • CONCACAF Third Round 4th Place vs OFC Winner

Where two slots qualifying for the World Cup to be determined, hence the total qualified slots for these confederations are not concretely determined. It will be played out in what is also known as a wild-card tourney.

Each confederation will be played out in different formats and will field the determined number of FIFA qualification slots as stated above. All confederation leagues will conclude by the end of march, when we will have a full list of all 32 teams qualified for FIFA World Cup 2022

FIFA World Cup 2022 – Currently Qualified Team

There are currently thirteen teams qualified for FIFA World Cup 2022, including Qatar’s team that qualified by merit of being a team playing for the host country.

TeamMethod of Qualification
QatarHost Country
SerbiaWinner of UEFA Group A
SpainWinner of UEFA Group N
SwitzerlandWinner of UEFA Group C
FranceWinner of UEFA Group D
BelgiumWinner of UEFA Group E
DenmarkWinner of UEFA Group F
EnglandWinner of UEFA Group I
NetherlandsWinner of UEFA Group G
CroatiaWinner of UEFA Group H
GermanyWinner of UEFA Group J
BrazilGuaranteed Top-4 placement in CONMEBOL
ArgentinaGuaranteed Top-4 placement in CONMEBOL

*Although CONMEBOL Qualifiers is not concluded yet, Brazil and Argentina are mathematically locked in as Top-4 placement in the standings and are hence effectively qualified for FIFA World Cup 2022

Latest News

Latest Game Reviews

Latest in e-Sports

Get The Latest Updates

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Sign up for exclusive offers and latest news and receive them straight to your inbox.

Latest in Poker

Latest in Payments